The Indian R Praggnanandhaa, PV Nandhidhaa Bag Titles


On Thursday, Indian Grandmaster R Praggnanandhaa and his compatriot PV Nandhidhaa won the titles in the Open and Women’s sections of the Asian Continental Chess Championship respectively.

READ ALSO | In pictures: FIFA World Cup winners over the years

Praggnanandhaa drew with compatriot B Adhiban in a 63-stroke match in the ninth and final round to emerge the clear winner with seven points.

The 17-year-old from Chennai entered the final round half a point ahead of the rest of the field. He withstood the challenge of the experienced Adhiban and shared the honors to claim the top prize.

The triumph also earned Praggnanandhaa a ticket to the upcoming FIDE World Cup.

SL Narayanan, Harsha Bharathakoti, Karthik Venkataraman and Shamsiddin Vokhidov, the other players who had an outside chance to clinch the title, missed after draws.

While Narayanan and Vokhidov settled for a draw, Bharathakoti and Venkatarman had to settle for half a point each after their match ended in a stalemate.

GM SP Sethuraman beat MI Koustav Chatterjee in 41 shots to join five others with 6.5 points.

Harsha Bharathakoti took second place based on a better tie-break score while Adhiban was third.

Narayanan, Vokhidov, Sethuraman and Venkataraman finished fourth through seventh respectively.

In the women’s event, WGM Nandhidhaa drew their ninth round match against Divya Deshmukh to finish with 7.5 points. The 26-year-old Tamil Nadu player went undefeated for all nine rounds and won six matches.

Priyanka Nutakki, Divya Deshmukh and Thi Kim Phung Vo (Vietnam) finished tied with 6.5 points but Nutakki took second place based on a better tie-break. Deshmukh finished third and Vo placed fourth.” width=”942″ height=”530″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen=”allowfullscreen”>

Final ranking< /strong> :

Open: 1. R Praggnanandhaa 7 points, 2. Harsha Bharathakoti 6.5, 3. B Adhiban 6.5, 4. SL Narayanan 6.5, 5. Shamsiddin Vokhidov 6.5, 6. SP Sethuraman 6.5, 7 Karthik Venkataraman 6.5, 8. M Pranesh 6, 9. Viani Antonio D'cunha, 10. Pranav Anand 6, 11. M Shyam Sundar 6, 12. Abhimanyu Puranik 6, 13. Aravindh Chithambaram 6, 14, NR Vignesh 5.5, 15. Koustav Chatterjee 5.5.

Women: 1. PV Nandhidhaa 7.5 points, 2. Priyanka Nutakki 6.5, 3. Divya Deshmukh 6.5, 4. Thi Kim Phung Vo 6.5, 5. Liya Kurmangaliyeva 6, 6 Thi Mai Hug Nguyen 6, 7. Padmini Rout 6, 8. Aakanksha Hagawane 5.5, 9. Nisha Mohota 5.5, 10. Vantika Agrawal 5.5, 11. Mary Ann Gomes 5.5, 12. Amina Kairbekova 5.5, 13. Eesha Karavade 5.5, 14. D Nomin-Erdenne 5.5, 15. Kiran Manisha Mohanty 5.

Read allLatest sports news here

Source link

Comments are closed.