Rizwan, Babar and Shaheen win 2021 PCB Awards

(LR) Mohammad Rizwan, Pakistani wicket hitter, skipper Babar Azam and quick pitcher Shaheen Shah Afridi. – Twitter / AFP
  • There were a total of 10 categories identified with eight categories of players and two special categories.
  • Mohammad Rizwan wins two awards.
  • Babar Azam becomes ODI Cricketer of the Year.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the winners of the 2021 PCB Awards on Thursday on its digital platforms.

The 2021 PCB Awards were an effort by the Board of Directors to recognize and appreciate players and match officials for their achievements, as well as their contributions.

There were a total of 10 categories identified with eight player categories and two special categories including Spirit of Cricket and Referee of the Year.

Here is the full list of winners in all categories announced by PCB in a press release released today:

Impactful performance of the year – Shaheen Shah Afridi

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Wasim Jnr

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Babar Azam

Female Cricketer of the Year – Nida Dar

Test Cricketer of the Year – Hassan Ali

T20I Cricketer of the Year -Mohammad Rizwan

Cricket spirit – Visit of the Pakistan cricket team to the locker room of the Namibia cricket team after their 45-race victory to congratulate the Namibian team on qualifying for their first 2021 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup, then to move on to the Super-12 step.

Referee of the Year – Asif Yaqoob

Domestic Cricketer of the Year – Sahibzada Farhan

Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year -Mohammad Rizwan

Speaking on the occasion, PCB President Ramiz Raja said: “On behalf of the PCB, I would like to congratulate each laureate. They deserve all the applause and praise for their tremendous consistency across all formats in trying times which has inspired their teams to outstanding performances throughout 2021, which have been widely recognized by Pakistani cricket fans.

The independent panel that selected the winners included Rashid Latif, Marina Iqbal (former international cricketers), Tariq Saeed (broadcaster), Mazher Arshad (statistician), Majid Bhatti, Mohammad Yaqoob, Mohi Shah, Rizwan Ali, Shahid Hashmi and Sohail Imran (journalist).

Mohammad Rizwan won the PCB’s Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year award following a stellar 2021 in which he scored 455 tests, 134 ODIs and 1,326 T20I races, in addition to representing 56 batsmen behind counters in all formats.

“I feel humbled and honored to have been named Most Valuable Pakistani Cricketer in 2021. This is the PCB’s most prestigious award and to be recognized for my contribution to the team’s outstanding performance in all formats. in 2021 in a way that gives me immense satisfaction and happiness, ”said Rizwan.

“I thought I had a stellar year in the game’s shortest format when I was able to hit a century earlier in the year against South Africa and then keep that confidence and momentum for the rest of the year. year. I give a lot of credit to our bowlers who went to their heart’s content and didn’t let the pressure on the hitters by maintaining sustained pressure on the opponents throughout the year.

Meanwhile, Hasan Ali said: “The Cricket Test is the flagship format of the game and being named Cricketer of the Year is a proud moment for me.”

He further added that last year was somewhat of a return year for him after missing international cricket in 2020 due to injury.

“Not only was I able to make a successful comeback to international cricket, but I also played my part in the team’s overall success in 2021.”

Source link

Comments are closed.