Jamaican women’s Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy bag at CGC

Jodi Munn-Barrow – first female president of the Jamaica Golf Association

The ladies of JAMAICA recently returned to the island with the Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy they won at the 26th Caribbean Golf Classic held at the Casa de Campo Golf Course in Puerto Rico.

Although this is Jamaica’s second appearance, the Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy has been around for ten years.

Munn-Barrow, who is president of the Jamaica Golf Association, was on the golf course and posted the best individual score to lead Jamaica to victory in the women’s section of the competition.

The Jamaican women’s team amassed 47.5 points for the win ahead of Puerto Rico who earned 47 for second place in the three-day, 13-nation competition.

“The Jamaica Golf Association is very proud that Team Jamaica emerged victorious at the 2022 Caribbean Golf Association Classic held in Casa de Campo, Dominican Republic,” Munn-Barrow said.

“The ladies won the Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy and we are very proud of our women. It was a very small delegation but they all fought hard and came out on top – beating Puerto Rico by half a point in the final standings – and we hope this is the start of even more victories for our women’s teams,” she continued. .

Other members of the winning women’s team were Michele McCreath, Sonia Stewart-Wittock, Diane Hudson, Leann Chong, Krystal Chung, Suzan White and Deborah Newnham.

Two other trophies were on offer, namely the Robert Grell Trophy for the men’s team and the George Noon Trophy for the country which amassed the most points in the women’s and men’s sections. Those trophies both went to Puerto Rico, who scored 120 points to win the Robert Grell Trophy and 167 points to win the George Noon Trophy.

Jamaica came fourth overall with 101.5 points, ahead of the Bahamas with 87 points.

The Jamaica men’s team pocketed fifty-four (54) points for fifth place while Trinidad and Tobago, out of fifty-three (53), finished sixth.

Members of the Jamaican men’s team were William Knibbs, Dr. Mark Newnham, Robert Chin, Radcliff Knibbs, Carlyle Hudson, Dorrel Allen, Norman Pryce, Richard White, Peter Chin and Bruce Robertson.

The Caribbean Golf Classic is an event comprised of unlimited number of teams from each participating member country playing 18 holes each day. Teams are divided into flights (or groups) based on disability and gender. This is a modified stableford competition in which points are awarded on a gross basis based on quality of play – par, over or under par, or the number of strokes scored on a hole particular.

Source link

Comments are closed.