Amusan, Oshoala, Olowookere, Obaseki and more set to land Sheroes award


Tobi Amusan

Nigerian sensational sprinter and world record holder Tobi Amusan will win the 2022 Sheroe Prize of the Year 2022 on Tuesday, November 8, an event set to take place in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

Amusan, who won gold and broke records in the 100m hurdles at this year’s World Championships and Commonwealth Games, is among the outstanding Nigerian sportsmen selected for various categories of the Sheroes Awards.

Among the prominent Nigerians also lined up for special honors are Edo State Governor, Ms. Betsy Obaseki as Sheroe Trailblazer of the Year, Football Federation of Nigeria Board Member , Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen for Sheroe Lifetime Achievement Award and Managing Director of Fidelity Bank Ms. Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe – Sheroe Capital Achievement Award.

A joint press release from Ratels Sports Development Foundation (RSDF) President Barr. Paul Edeh and the Chairman of the Sheroes Awards Committee, Mr Moses Bako, further revealed on Sunday that the reigning African Footballer of the Year and Nigerian Super Falcons Striker, Asisat Oshoala will be crowned Sheroe African Footballer of the Year. ‘year.

According to the organisers, Nigeria Flamingos head coach Bankole Olowookere will receive Sheroe Sports Icon of the Year.

Coach Olowokere led the Flamingos who recently beat all odds to claim bronze at the just-concluded FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, a feat Nigeria could not achieve in the passed during the competition.

The other winners are Super Falcons player Monday Gift (Sheroe Women Football Rising Star of the Year), coach Emmanuel Osahon (Sheroe Women Football Talent Developer of the Year, Ruqayyah Adeboye (Sheroe Humanitarian of the Year), Nelly Orisakwe (Sheroe Women Football Grassroots Coach of the Year) and Ayisat Yusuf-Aromire (Sheroe Girl-Child Advocate of the year).

There is also a posthumous award for the late Alhaji Tewogboye Oyewole as the Sheroe pioneer of women’s football in Nigeria.

Out of Nigeria’s 36 states, Lagos State Football Association was chosen as Sheroe Most Outstanding Women Football Development FA of the Year in order of award shows ranked into three – Sheroes Exceptional Awards, Sheroes Premium Awards and Sheroes Grand Awards .

Regarding the essence of the event, the organizers said in the statement that the awards ceremony organized by RSDF since 2020 aims, among other things, to recognize the remarkable achievements made by women as well as individuals and organizations for the improvement of women around the world.

“The Sheroes Award is an annual event dedicated to celebrating and showcasing the remarkable achievements of African women around the world in recognition of their outstanding successes. It also aims to highlight and celebrate the women who have continued to leave an indelible mark in the annals of our society.

“RSDF believes that the giant strides of women and their impactful contribution to humanity, their incredible bravery, courage and bravery should be honored, celebrated and rewarded in the face of the daunting challenges they overcome on a daily basis.

“The theme for the Sheroes Award 2022 is: “This Is Our Moment – ​​African Women Breaking Limits”. Undoubtedly, the women who will be rewarded during the 2022 edition of the Sheroes Award are indeed boundary breakers whose moment must be celebrated, especially their incredible success story.

“The 2022 Sheroes Award winners have been carefully selected after a rigorous screening and vetting exercise conducted by the Awards Committee headed by Pastor Moses Bako. None of the winners were contacted prior to the selection and vetting process by the committee,” the statement added.

RSDF is currently hosting the Sheroes Cup, a pre-season tournament primarily for clubs plying their trade in the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL).

No less than eight women’s clubs compete on the prestigious Old Parade Ground in Abuja.

Source link

Comments are closed.